Honors Program Council

Through the Honors Council, faculty and staff contribute to the development of the Honors Program while advocating for academic excellence throughout campus. The Honors Council is co-chaired by the Honors Program Director and the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research. It meets once per month during the academic year.


The Honors Council supports academic excellence in leadership, research, and global citizenship throughout the campus. The Council will:

  • Work with the Dean to hire and evaluate the Honors Director
  • Support Honors Program faculty and students.
  • Assist with recruiting, admissions, and orientation.
  • Review and select Honors course and seminar proposals, and present their recommendations to the Curriculum and Academic Policy Committee.
  • Maintain, develop, and assess the Honors Curriculum.
  • Assess Honors courses and student portfolio demonstrations.
  • Conduct program evaluation.

Honors Council Members and Terms

  • Emily Schiltz, Honors Program Student Body President (2020-2021)
  • Brian Swancutt, Honors Program Student Body Vice President (2020-2021)
  • Mallory Steinmetz, Honors Program Student Body Secretary (2020-2021)
  • Delaney Conrad, Honors Program Student Body First Year Class Representative (2020-2021)
  • Riley Lehmer, Honors Program Student Body Sophomore Class Representative (2020-2021)
  • Hannah Turpinseed, Honors Program Student Body Junior Class Representative (2020-2021)
  • Rebecca Guss, Honors Program Student Body Senior Class Representative (2020-2021)
  • Josh Berkenpas, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences FA Representative (2019-2022)
  • Alisa Eimen, College of Arts & Humanities FA Representative (2018-2021)
  • Julie Frederick, College of Allied Health & Nursing FA Representative (2020-2023)
  • Saiful Islam, FA UCAP Representative, (2020-2021)
  • Kimberly Sommers, Counseling Center (2020-2021)
  • Vacant, College of Business FA Representative (2020-2023)
  • Evan Bibbee, Department of World Languages and Cultures Representative (2020-2021)
  • Bernadette Castillo, College of Education FA Representative (2020-2021)
  • Patrick Tebbe, Undergraduate Research Center Director (2020-2023)
  • Carolyn Nelson, Office of Admissions Representative (2020-2021)
  • Alexis Paladini, MSUAASF Representative (2020-2021)
  • Michael Rutkowski, College of Science, Engineering and Technology FA Representative (2020-2021)
  • Rosalin Cobb, Office of Diversity and Inclusion (2020-2021)
  • Ginny Walters, Honors Program Assistant Director and University Fellowship Coordinator
  • Leah White, Honors Program Director, Honors Program Council Co-Chair
  • Christopher Corley, Interim Dean of Library and Learning, Honors Program Council Co-Chair
  • Erica Johnson, Global Education (2020-2021)
  • Evan Rusch, Memorial Library Representative (2020-2021)
  • Jean Clarke, Learning Community Representative (2020-2021)